Loading Downloads
3Episodes
Category: Games & Hobbies

The SwarmCast is a podcast about gaming, geek culture, and more. Hosted by Jon Maness and Toast.

March 27, 2013

Episode 1: The Swarming Menace

Welcome to the first SCARAB Swarm Podcast.  In this episode, I talk with Del Collins, the director of SCARAB.  He tells us about the origins of the conventions, and about some of what SCARAB does aside from the convention each year in January.  Del also shares stories of his gaming past, and some interesting convention stories.

This first podcasts focuses mainly on the origins of SCARAB, but I’d like to do a lot more.  In future podcasts I will be asking folks about what games they might be playing and like, interviewing more SCARAB staff and other guests.

Tell me what you think, and what you’d like to see in this podcast.

-Jon Maness

00:0000:00
March 27, 2013

Episode 1 Production Notes

During the course of talking with Del, we talk about or mention quite a few games.  Here’s a few of them:

Battletech  (http://www.catalystgamelabs.com/battletech/ )

Call of Cthulhu (http://www.chaosium.com/ )

Chaotic Connections (http://chaoticconnections.com/)

D&D / AD&D (Wizards of the Coast) (http://www.wizards.com/dnd/ )

Dresden Files (http://www.evilhat.com/home/the-dresden-files-rpg-page/ )

Kobolds Ate My Baby (http://9thlevel.com/ )

Pathfinder (http://paizo.com/pathfinder )

Shadowrun (http://www.shadowrun4.com/ )

Time Warriors (4DStudios)

Savage Worlds (http://www.peginc.com/)

Necessary Evil (http://www.peginc.com/product-category/necessary-evil/ )

Deadlands Reloaded (http://www.peginc.com/product-category/deadlands-reloaded/ )

Toon (Steve Jackson Games) (http://www.sjgames.com/toon/ )

 

Here are some links to gaming conventions listed in the events Calendar and in the interview:

Con Carolinas (http://concarolinas.org/ )

GeekOUT (http://geekoutavl.org/ )

Gen Con  (http://gencon.com/ )

Gnome Con (http://gnomecon.org/ )

Mace (http://www.justusproductions.com/mace )

XCon World (http://www.xconworld.info/ )

 

Shout Outs!

Del mentions Chessex (http://chessex.com/ ).   Big shout out for the SCARAB dice!

Big shout out to MC Lars for giving me permission to use his music in the podcast.  Check him out! (http://mclars.com/site/)